The disasters when screen sharing in video chat is increasing. Screen sharing is a feature that allows you to show the screen of your PC, iPhone, Android, or Tablet to the other person’s screen as it is, and can be used with Skype, Zoom, and Google Hangout. And the disasters are that when you’re screen sharing or in the middle of a screen-sharing session, you inevitably show something that you shouldn’t be showing to the other person.

For example, during an internal meeting, a shopping page that you were looking at in private gets screen-shared in a big way. This is still a mellow one, but the disasters I’m going to tell you here are much more serious and must be avoided.

Here Are 7 Screen Sharing Disasters

Can’t Share Screen

Screen sharing may not be allowed due to your browser or OS settings. For example, you may have been able to screen share before, but the settings sometimes are switched when you upgrade your OS.

Mac OS

Click “System Preferences” Click “Security & Privacy” Click “Screen Recording” in the “Privacy” tab Check the “Google Chrome” box in “Screen Recording”

Annoyed to be asked to reboot once you change the OS settings. Also, you may not be able to screen share if the app is not the latest version. Always keep it updated to the latest version.

Tinder Screen Shows Up

Tinder Screen Shows Up

This is the most common accident. We've all been there at one time or another when we've screen-shared and ended up with a Tinder page instead of a document, and it wasn't just Tinder, it was also the time when someone at work found out about your secretly favorite idol.

Tinder is ok, all it takes is an embarrassment on your part, but the problem is that credentials can leak out. For example, it's hard to see the text of an email with an important customer or a Slack exchange in your team that you shouldn't show to your customers.

Of course, you should close any private or confidential material before a web conference. In addition to this, make sure you know which screen to share when you are sharing a screen. Try to avoid full-screen sharing as much as possible and share only the apps and tabs that you need.

Screen Sharing Left On

Do you ever forget to turn off a screen share while you're on it? I've been caught replying to emails in a meeting because I forgot to turn off my screen share after I was done sharing documents on the web conference.

Get in the habit of only doing screen shares when necessary. Don't always screen-share with only one screen for only one purpose.

Not Ready At All

Have you ever been in a rush to present on Zoom because you weren't ready? Searching for the contents of a folder after you've screen-shared, not only does take up a lot of your time, but it can also lead to confidential material being seen.

Be prepared to do so in advance when you are supposed to do screen sharing. Instead of looking for the material after you have shared it, try to share it after you have launched it.

Embarrassing Notifications

Likely to happen following the sharing of the wrong screen: if you have Facebook or Slack message notifications turned on if you receive a message while sharing a screen, the notification will also be shared. One of my most embarrassing experiences was when a message from my mother exposed me to a serious meeting.

First of all, you should turn off unnecessary notifications. You can also use an app called Muzzle to limit web notifications while you're screen-sharing.

Video Chat Is Hidden

When you screen-share and you're talking through the material, it can be hard to tell which browser or app you're actually sharing from. Zoom, in particular, can be difficult to navigate because the video navigation disappears when you're screen-sharing.

It's a good idea to familiarize yourself with the specifics of the video chat you're using ahead of time. And if you get confused, you can find it right away through the app's launcher, so try to stay calm and respond to it.

Search History

Search History

Do you ever search for an idea you're curious about while brainstorming? You may be searching for an embarrassing word without even realizing it. What if you were screen-sharing then? Your search history is being projected.

The solution is to delete your search history from time to time, but basically, if you want to do something in your browser, you can use a guest browser or secret window.

Before Screen Sharing

  • Check your OS and browser settings to allow screen sharing.
  • Choose the screen to share properly.
  • Close the screen share as soon as you're done with your objective
  • Decide which screen to share and then screen share
  • Apps and browser notifications should be turned off.
  • Make sure you know how to use the app you are using.

Have you ever wanted to screen-share and interact with people as easily as you would on the phone or in a chat? With Remotehour you can screen-share and explain your presentations or products as you would a phone call.

Haven't signed up yet? Sign up for Remotehour today and try screen sharing with one click.